Eurotrip: Venice, Italy

When I arrived in Venice, I took my time walking through the streets to find my hotel and just admired the lifestyle of those who live in this “floating city”. I didn’t end up checking in until very late, so I saved my site-seeing for the next day. I wandered around, found the Rialto Bridge and had lunch near it so I could sit in admiration with a glass of local wine.

After lunch, I made my way to San Marco Square. While much of it was under construction and covered in scaffolding, it was still impressive nonetheless. There are a ton of shops in the area so I grabbed a cup of gelato and window-shopped for a while. One shop that I was amazed by was full of Murano blown glass sculptures. It was absolutely mesmerizing what skill some people have to be able to make these; below is a picture of a bald eagle made of blown glass. I didn’t have time to go to Murano Island, where all of these are made, but I bought myself a small blown glass wine cork as a souvenir, that I would have a grand ol’ time trying to carry around for the rest of my trip without it breaking, but I digress. After window shopping for a while, I began to make my way back to my hotel, so I could drop off my purchases then head back out to find a local eatery for dinner. I think I ate pizza or pasta for every meal from the second I stepped into Italy until the minute I left, but it was delicious every time and not at all processed like typical American pizzas, so I was happy with my decision. Still to this day I remember the meal from this night; I had a delicious alfredo pasta with crab, which was an absolutely great way to end a quick trip to Venice, topped off with some gelato afterwards of course!

Next stop, Rome! If you’d like to read about my trip from the beginning, start with London.

One thought on “Eurotrip: Venice, Italy

  1. Pingback: Eurotrip: Milan, Italy | Wine and Wayfaring

Leave a Reply

